Blog post 2: Bloomberg Business

One of the big news for web design recently is the redesign of Bloomberg Business website.

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 1.50.36 AM

“I think some of the best news and web design is a little bit uncomfortable when you first see it,” says Joshua Topolsky, editor of Bloomberg Digital and one of the people in charge of the redesign.

You can easily see the connection between the wild redesign and Bloomberg Businessweek’s bold magazine covers.

6806776681_3a8e816247_b 7262151796_569ea636f9_b bx54utrcaaejru_

Anyway, let’s take a deep breath and talk about Steve Krug’s five guidelines of good web design.

Hierarchy

There’s a clear visual hierarchy on the website which is shown by the size of the blocks. What’s better is that it’s digitally flexible for showing the important stories. Editors can “very quickly reshuffle what we’re doing on the page, because every module is moveable,” Topolsky says. They can “snap them together like Lego.”

Josh Tyrangiel, Bloomberg’s senior executive editor for consumer products, tweeted for one of Bloomberg Businessweek’s cover story, “our new cover story, inflated to 12.5 psi http://buswk.co/1CisdFO.”

Convention

The dizzy blue? The Web 1.0 gradient? The screaming fonts?

Well, it’s not bad to have someone who can challenge conventions, especially in those big institutions.

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 1.57.50 AM

Page breakup

The page is clearly broken up by bars, strokes, blocks and really really nice white space. I like the horizontal sections between the big groups of blocks on the front page.

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 2.02.33 AM

Clickability

The blocks are like huge buttons that you can easily tell they’re clickable. When you hover your mouse over the texts, they will change their colors to show you their clickability. There’re a lot of mouseovers on the home page to provoke your interest to read the stories.

Noise

It can be a noisy website in terms of its loud colors and the quirky fonts on some of the feature story pages; however, it’s also a clean website, thanks to its clear alignment and beautifully designed white space.

Just as Steven Perlberg, a Wall Street Journal reporter said, “I feel like the new bloomberg.com is screaming at me but I don’t mind.”

What I don’t like is the infinite scroll on article pages. It gives me anxiety to have so much information on one webpage.

2 thoughts on “Blog post 2: Bloomberg Business

  1. I like the new redesign of Bloomberg’s site, despite the blue color and font combination as you mentioned. It’s intense but I think it works for them.

    I definitely see the hierarchy of the page and that’s really good. The more important stories are made larger in order to appeal more to the readers and get their attention. I like also how the site uses conventions, like the menu bars across the top. I think the second one, that lists some select stocks from different markets, is really great. It even makes Bloomberg’s website more effective by offering something right up front that it knows its readers will want to see.

    I think this website could benefit from even more white space, especially toward the top. As the user scrolls down, the site opens up but at the very top it’s really crowded and I think spacing it out even a little bit more could help the site breathe.

    Overall though I like the organization and think that it’s a well designed site offering a lot of good content to its users.

    Like

  2. The first thing I noticed as I was scrolling through the blog was the “Bloomberg Business” headline over the first photo. “Noticed” is maybe too light of a term — it practically screamed at me. Making sure it wasn’t the screenshot being weird, I went to the page and there it was, the word “business” in blue covering numbers in red on top of a photo. It just looks so bad. And the site doesn’t get much better after that.

    Yes, I will agree, after you scroll down a bit there’s some very nice white space and it’s fairly easy to tell what photo goes with what headline to make a package. But what struck me as odd was that the first subhead you come to is called “Top News,” after you’ve scrolled for a few seconds. This doesn’t make any sense to me. If Top News is that far down on the page, what are readers looking at on the top of the page?

    Two more things I’d like to note about the beginning of the page. First, it doesn’t seem like there is a centerpiece. I understand that some news organizations are trying to cater more to their viewers’ interests online by building custom home pages for each reader (in the same style that online ads are related to things you click on often) but that doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t have something that says “Look at this! This is the news of the day!’ Figuratively, of course. Right now, on Bloomberg’s site, everything is screaming for my attention so loudly that I don’t want to listen to any of it. They are turning me away as a potential reader.

    Secondly, all of the headlines are surrounded by a white box that cuts in to every single photo on the page. Most create a weird dog leg look, some make it hard to tell what the photo is even of. If I were a photographer for Bloomberg and I saw what they were doing to my work, I would be angry beyond belief.

    The design seems to be done for design’s sake, not to properly showcase the work of the reporters and photographers working at Bloomberg.

    Like

Leave a Reply

