Blog 5: Poetry and Code

I really look for simplicity in my designs. It doesn’t matter if that happens to be code or print, the best and most effective designs are the ones that make everything look simple.

This is why I really like the inspiration of Poetry and Code. I don’t have to mess around on his site to understand what he is looking for. He adheres to an audience that values that simplicity to find his work and have a good understanding of it. I really like how it is almost like a powerpoint in his presentation but still allows us to outsource to many different website themes as well.

One thing I was really impressed by is the navigation bar. While it is interactive it is also more of a pop up aspect than another page to the website. It played off of his idea of simplicity but gave it a new flare to look into. I also liked the animation that he gave his home page to stand out from a static page. I’d really like to add something like this interactions to my own upcoming sites and figure out how to do something like this.

About cshogren

I am a current Journalism and English major at the University of Missouri. Hopefully I will be able to learn a little about creativity through this blog through photography, writing and maybe a couple other things while I'm at it.

One thought on “Blog 5: Poetry and Code

  1. There is a little glitch on my screen. As a Feedly user, the default position of Feedly Mini Toolkit for for me to subscribe websites fully cover the button of this website at the bottom right corner. Thus I cannot click to change the page at all. I saw there are supposed to be nine pages here but I can only reach until the second page.
    I can fully understand that it’s an unexpected incident to designers. I didn’t expect it myself either. But I believe not only I confront this problem among millions of Feedly users. I just feel like there are so many little traps for web designers, and that’s why we should make full use of usability tests.
    In general, I like the clear style of the website. On the page of the content list, I like the interactive effect that when I hover over an item, the red underscore grows longer to the length of the item.

    Like

Leave a Reply

