Blog Post 5: St. Louis Browns Historical Site

Screen Shot 2015-03-30 at 11.21.02 AM

I would like to improve on two things in my designs for the second interactive website, which are simplicity and visuality. And these two qualities are exactly what I think the St. Louis Browns Historical Society has presented.

This site creates a full-screen experience leading the user through the timeline of the baseball team’s tenure in St. Louis. The historical nature of the story lent itself to a textured, vintage-feeling design. The tone of its background color, and the font of texts have also brought out the feeling of history.

The whole idea behind the design of this website is very simple. On the landing page, the designer used a video of the baseball team as background. The color was toned to very light. There are two clickable buttons on the landing page, one is to enter the website called “play ball,” and another is the menu.

Screen Shot 2015-03-30 at 11.21.23 AM

I like the design of the menu a lot. It’s convenient and also artistic. Social media links like Facebook, Twitter and Youtube Channel are included in the menu to avoid clutter on each page.

Screen Shot 2015-03-30 at 11.21.54 AM

If you click on the “play ball” button, chapters of the team’s history will show up. You can scroll to choose different chapters. Each chapter is represented by a picture that corresponds to the history of its era. The page looks clean but conveys strong message through the visuals. I really want to make my own site as simple and powerful like this.

2 thoughts on “Blog Post 5: St. Louis Browns Historical Site

  1. May, I completely agree with you on the things that I would like to improve on for my design skills, simplicity and visuals. After browsing on the St. Louis Browns Historical site I saw a lot of things that stuck out at me and would be perfect if I could utilize in my web design as well as try and create a look that I can be most proud of.
    For starters, I really like that the site is designed as a timeline that takes you down the site going through different sections. This was not only very visually appealing but it also made it so not TOO much information was jumping out at you all at the same time.
    I also enjoyed that in the top right corner of the website there was a small almost transparent menu button that allows you to jump to certain sections without having to go through all of the articles at once. That is something I think will be very helpful to viewers who’ve already seen the site but may want to revisit a specific topic or story.
    Overall, this site works very effectively and properly, and the only think that I may suggest to the developer is to possible add a little bit of color just to living up a bit more.

    Like

  2. I agree with you that this website is simple and well designed. Compared to other websites, it has more visual elements there. I also want to use these qualities for my own design.
    Except these two, I think there is another aspect that makes this website outstanding. That is its focus on details.
    For example, if you hover over the menu bar, its icon will change into a small baseball. This effect is not hard to achieve by coding, but it still reflects how thoughtful the designer is.
    Normally, by scrolling, the page would go down. But it’s not often the case here. For the history page and the players page, by scrolling, the page is moving from left to right. This change is also based on the content. Moving from left to right is a better way to display the content on these two pages. By doing this, it also gives this website more diversities.
    So, I think when designing a website, we should not only focus on the general layout. We should also pay some attention to those tiny details.They can make our page perfect.

    Like

Leave a Reply

