Blog 6: Si digital

While snooping around in the code of a couple different websites, I ran into something interesting. I was looking at Si digital‘s site and liked how as you scrolled down, the text would appear.

Screen Shot 2015-04-12 at 9.59.26 PM

I attempted to find the source behind this. This whole site is very user-oriented. It looks nice and is extremely interactive. That made it kind of hard to tell what was what when I looked through the code.

Something that I did find interesting was the webkit-font-smoothing tag. I originally thought that had something to do with the text showing up as you scrolled, but after doing some more research, I realized that this was a way to make text look smoother and more appealing.

-webkit-font-smoothing: antialiased; was used often in this site, so I decided to look into it further. This site explains what exactly the difference is when you use this tag. It just adds a higher quality of font type if your particular font is not easy to read.

Screen Shot 2015-04-12 at 10.16.52 PM

Ultimately I didn’t really find what I was looking for, but I still found out something interesting along the way.

One thought on “Blog 6: Si digital

  1. I had the same issue with all the sites I was looking at. The really good ones have so much information and code that its hard to tell what is what.

    I found some sites like this as well where as you scroll things appear. I would like to know how that works too.

    The font smoothing thing is pretty useful. I would use that in the future.

    Like

Leave a Reply

